Dadasaheb Phalke award winners list 1969-2021

Here is a list of Dadasaheb Phalke Award winners from year 1969 2021: Here you will find general knowledge current affairs on phalke award winner who won this award annualy from starting year to latest. This yearwise list is very important for those students of job exam or school exam. The study material about phalke award you need for your general knowledge preparation is given through a table.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award : is given for the development of Indian cinema. It is the highest cinematic award in India.  The awardee has to be a great contribution to Indian films. The award first introduced in the year 1969. This award is given in memory of Dadasaheb Phalke popularly known as Dhundiraj Govind Phalke(1870-1944) who was also known as Father of Indian Cinema for his great contributor to the Indian films. India’s first full length feature film ‘Raja Harishchandra’ was directed by Dadasaheb Phalke in 1913. Since its inception in 1969 the award has been given 49 times from Devika Rani to the latest Vinod Khanna in 2018. Among the 49 receipients, Prithviraj Kapoor and Vinod Khanna are the only posthumous phalke winners. The Phalke award is given annually on the ceremony of National Film Awards presented by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an organisation of Ministry of Information and Broadcasting,  Govt. Of India. The awardee gets a prize money of 10 lakh rupees with a Swarna Kamal golden medal and shawl respectively.

Devika Rani : Devika Rani is one of the outstanding actress in Indian film industry debuted her first film Karma that released in 1933. She is well known as the first actress in Indian cinema. Devika Rani had a successful career and acted in Jeevan Prabhat, Prem Kahani, Nirmala, Sabitri like films. She was awarded first Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 1969’s 17th National Film Award ceremony for her huge contribution to Indian cinema.

Manoj Kumar : Hindi film actor Manoj Kumar who is popularly known as patriotic hero debuted in movie Fashion released in 1957. He worked as actor and director in Bollywood film industry. His famous films are Roti Kapda Aur Makaan, Patthar Ke Sanam, Purab Aur Paschim, Neel Kamal, Woh Kon Thi etc. Manoj kumar received 2016 Dadasaheb Phalke Award given on ceremony of 63rd National Film Awards. Also he is winner of many awards such as Filmfare Awards, Padma Shri Awards, Kalakar Awards etc.

Shashi Kapoor: The 46th Dadasaheb Phalke awardee Shashi Kapoor was awarded 1986 National Film Award as Best Actor for New Delhi Times. He was a director, producer in Bollywood film industry and appeared in 160 plus hindi english films as actor.

Gulzar : Famous Indian poet, lyricist and film director Gulzar is the recipient of 2013’s Phalke Award. He started his career as a lyricist in 1963’s film Bandini. Aandhi, Mousam are the notable films of his direction.

Pran : Bollywood film artist Pran was honoured Phalke Award in 2012 at 60th National Film Awards ceremony. He appeared in over 350 films as actor. Pran’s notable films are Madhumati(1958), Jis Desh Mein Ganga Behti Hai(1960), Upkar(1967), Shaheed(1965), Johny Mera Naan(1970), Zanjeer(1973) etc. Along with Phalke he was awarded Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award in 1967, 1969, 1972 and was awarded Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award 1997.

Soumitra Chatterjee: Famous Bengali actor Soumitra Chatterjee won 2011’s Phalke award. He is the 43rd winner and debuted as actor in 1959’s film Apur Sansar.

K. Balachandar : The 2010’s Phalke Award was received by famous Tamil and Telugu filmmaker K. Balachander. He was also awarded India’s fourth highest civilian award Padma Shri in 1987.

D. Ramanaidu : Famous Telugu filmmaker D. Ramanaidu is the 2009’s Phalke award winner who produced over 130 films.

Note: Don’t be confused with Dadasaheb Phalke award with Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards(This award is based only on bollywood actors)

Recent highlights on phalke award -Update : Most recent Dadasaheb phalke award has been announced on 2019 and awarded to noted Hindi film actor Amitabh Bachhan on the ceremony of 66th National Film Awards

List of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners 1969-2020

This list contains all 50 awardees from 1969 to 2020. Bracket shows the number of National Film Award ceremony held.

Year                                     Winners

1969(1st)                      Devika Rani

1970(2nd)      Birendranath Sarkar

1971(3rd)             Prithviraj Kapoor

1972(4th)                 Pankaj Mullick

1973(5th)Ruby Myers(Sulochana)

1974(6th)                        B.N.Reddy

1975(7th)               Dhiren Ganguly

1976(8th)                      Kanan Debi

1977(9th)                        Nitin Bose

1978(10th)            Raichand Badal

1979(11th)                 Sohrab Modi

1980(12th)                    Paidi Jairaj

1981(13th)                   Naushad Ali

1982(14th)                    L.V.Prasad

1983(15th)                  Durga Khote

1984(16th)                   Satyajit Roy

1985(17th)                    V.Santaram

1986(18th)                B.Nagi.Reddy

1987(19th)                     Raj Kapoor

1988(20th)                Ashok Kumar

1989(21st)         Lata Mangeshkar

1990(22nd)          A.Nageswar Rao

1991(23rd)           Valji Pendharkar

1992(24th)           Bhupen Hajarika

1993(25th)      Majrooh Sultanpuri

1994(26th)                    Dilip Kumar

1995(27th)                      Raj Kumar

1996(28th)          Shivaji Ganeshan

1997(29th)                 Kavi Pradeep

1998(30th)                    B.R.Chopra

1999(31st)  Hrishikesh Mukherjee

2000(32nd)               Asha Bhonsle

2001(33rd)                  Yash Chopra

2002(34th)                     Dev Anand

2003(35th)                     Mrinal Sen

2004(36th)Adoor Gopalakrishnan

2005(37th)             Shyam Benegal

2006(38th)                  Tapan Sinha

2007(39th)                    Manna Dey

2008(40th)                  V.K.Moorthy

2009(41st)                 D.Ramanaidu

2010(42nd)             K.Balachander

2011(43rd)     Soumitra Chatterjee

2012 (44th)                               Pran

2013(45th)                             Gulzar

2014(46th)              Shashi Kapoor

2015(47th)                Manoj Kumar

2016(48th) Kasinathuni Viswanath

2017(49th)               Vinod Khanna

2018(50th)          Amitabh Bachhan

2019(51st)    to be updated

2020(52nd)  to be updated

2021(53rd)   to be updated






2 Responses

  1. […] is a Telugu director and screenwriter won Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 2005, Padma Shri in 1976 and Padma Bhushan in 1991. Who is […]

  2. कृष्ण कुमार says:

    प्राण साहब का नाम नहीं लिया है। सूची संशोधित किया जाना चाहिए।

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.